Finally on Tumblr

Angelo Kangleon Tumblr

It’s official: I am finally on Tumblr! Can’t believe it took me three or so years to give in!

At the outset, you see, when I was looking for a blog platform to showcase/document my foray into photography and someone suggested Tumblr, I was quick to brush it off, saying, “I’m a writer, too, and I’ve got an awful lot to say—I simply can not do microblog, because what I need is to macroblog!”

As the years have gone by, though, I have come to realize that, hey, if I want to be serious about this whole photography thing, then I have to learn to how to separate that aspect from the writer part of me. Which brings us to right here and right now. Yes, this is the part of me that wants to pipe down!

Consider this Tumblr of mine as an exercise in restraint: I promise to upload only one to four photos per post, and to write fewer words. If you don’t like this new me, if you think STFU is not a good look on me, and if you like it better when I’m hyperventilating (let’s face it: some people like me better as a writer than a photographer), then you can always stick to this main blog of mine right here (or my “blogfolio,” as I like to call it) where it’s, like, 2,000 words per entry. To those who want to give this new me a chance, though, then, well, here it is: http://angelokangleon.tumblr.com/. Don’t forget to click on the Follow button!

For my first post I uploaded this photo that I took in Siargao Island some three months ago of a traveling surfer couple engaged to be married. I took this shot at five in the morning, just as the sun was about to rise, and they were heading out for an early morning surf. I know it’s kind of like an oxymoron, putting up this photo of two early birds to stand for my evidently late swoop into the Tumblr scene, but it speaks volumes about how I feel about new challenges: to borrow a line from Jon Kabat-Zinn, “You can’t stop the waves, but you can learn how to surf.”

Leave a Reply

